Close Menu

Ever wonder what all those letters after your doctor’s name stand for? Usually, they mean that a society of practitioners in his specialty has awarded him special distinction, or that he has special certification in a specific branch of medicine. For example, “MD, FACC” after your doctor’s name means that she’s a Medical Doctor and a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology.

As of this month, three staff members at the Texas Cardiac Arrhythmia Institute can tack a few more letters onto their own signatures. Barbara Thomas, RN (Director of Electrophysiology Services), Bai Rong, MD and Luigi Di Biase, MD, PhD (TCAI Research Fellows) were all inducted as Fellows of the Heart Rhythm Society (FHRS) at the 2011 Heart Rhythm Society conference in San Francisco.

Fellowship in the Heart Rhythm Society (HRS) is bestowed the most esteemed members of the society for “significant achievements, service, and prominence in the field of cardiac arrhythmia.” Fellows are elected by vote and must receive letters of support from two current fellows. Candidates must be active in HRS committees, hold certification in their specialty, and have contributed to or written at least five publications, two of which must be in peer-reviewed journals.

“This distinction is a great honor,” said Barbara Thomas, RN, after her induction. “Dr. Bai, Dr. Di Biase, and I join the ranks of the world’s most respected electrophysiologists by becoming Fellows.”

Sure, it will take a little more time for these three electrophysiology super stars to write their signatures, but something tells me the honor is worth it.
~ Jamie LaRue, RN

Receive email notifications for new posts.