Close Menu

National Nurses Week began May 6th and culminates on May 12th, the birthday of Florence Nightingale, whose notable contributions to the improvement of healthcare led to the establishment of professional nursing practice. Nurses Week is a time to reflect on the work of nurses and their professional contributions made over the past year. Join us in celebrating the nurses of St. David’s HealthCare, who are at the forefront of improving and transforming patient care.

Nurses Week Winners:

St. David’s Georgetown Hospital
Gail Daleiden

Heart Hospital of Austin
Inger Glasper

St. David’s Medical Center
Wendi Briseno
Karen Coburn
Sherry Longoria

St. David’s North Austin Medical Center
Sally Licavoli

St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center
Kelly Fisher
Jolynn Newsome

St. David’s South Austin Medical Center
Holly Meyer

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses is an international program that rewards and celebrates excellence in clinical expertise and extraordinary compassionate care given by nurses every day. St. David’s HealthCare is proud to be a DAISY Award Partner, recognizing 14 of our nurses with this special honor. They are outstanding role models in our nursing community.

Daisy Award Winners:

St. David’s Georgetown Hospital
Tammy Justis
Jessica Morton

St. David’s Medical Center
Alex Watkins

St. David’s North Austin Medical Center
Arlene Ballenger
Mimi Birkeneh
Adam Guillory
Cindy Warner

St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center:
Laura Chambers
Anni Mendez
Denny Yeo

St. David’s South Austin Medical Center
Karla Aguirre
Natalee Gonzalez
Casandra Mortenson
Elizabeth Pircon

Texas Nurses Association District 5 acknowledges five registered nurses who have made a significant difference to patients, peers, and the community during Nurses Week. The “Fab 5” are honored for their demonstrated excellence in the art and science of are chosen for their leadership qualities, services to the community and significant contributions to the profession, along with their status as role models and compassionate caregivers.

Fab 5 winners:

Gail Acuna
Gena Anderson

Karen Jeffries was honored with a prestigious award from The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. This was bestowed on only 25 nurses across the country and Karen was one of only three awarded from Texas. AACN’s awards program is highly regarded for its responsiveness to current trends in the nursing profession and in the environments where nurses work. In order to maintain the high-caliber program aligned with AACN’s mission and vision, the program focuses on excellence and innovation through standardized award criteria for all Circle of Excellence awards.

Congratulations to all of the nurses who have been recognized. You are the reason the best is here at St. David’s HealthCare

Receive email notifications for new posts.